top of page
Search
  • Aniket Hingnekar

Beginning my ISM Journey

Updated: Sep 14, 2020

9/7/2020


This week I began my journey into the field of neurology with an article about a relatively new treatment for people suffering from Chronic Migraines (CM). The article spoke about using onabotulinumtoxinA has a therapeutic measure to treat CM by giving shot around the head and neck area in order to relax their muscles. Researchers believe that migraines occur due to the hyperactivity of nerves in the brain, specifically the trigeminovascular pathway in the brain, which is one main pain signalling neuron link between sensory and central neurons. In order to reduce the frequency and intensity of migraines onabotulinumtoxinA inhibits the effectively of neurotransmitters between neurons by cleaving off the protein needed to prime the receptor for the neurotransmitter on the opposite neuron. With this plethora of new information I began to ask questions about the long-term effects of using onabotulinumtoxinA as a way to prevent CM, as the therapeutic procedure still involves a toxin that many researchers still have questions about. This treatment was only approved by the CDC in 2013 so many long term effects of the procedure have not yet been documented, however, the use of a toxin as a treatment also brought along the idea if onabotulinumtoxinA or similar toxins could be used to treat neurological conditions. This week I was successful in gathering and noting initial ideas and thoughts about my topic and it has allowed to further understand how a potential treatment is tested by the CDC and many private organizations. Next week I will begin to expand my focus and look at progressive chronic neurological conditions such as Alzheimer's or Parkinson's. I understand throughout this learning process I will face challenges, but I must overcome them with a steady mind and heart in order to better myself in order to increase my thirst for knowledge about the field of neurology.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page